In this difficult time, we are offering writing resources online so that we can ensure our poetry community stays connected and that we keep writing.

Our programme of virtual poetry workshops are a digital alternative to our popular Writing Days, and feature brilliant writing exercises, supportive feedback, and excellent company.


Digital Poetry Workshops

Welcome to ‘Apart Together’ – The Poetry Business’ digital writer development programme, featuring virtual workshops, Digital Poets-in-Residence, audio & blog content, eBooks and writing exercises.

Bursary Places & Gift Tickets

Two bursary places are available per workshop for writers from communities that are underrepresented and/or marginalised in contemporary poetry spaces, or those who are experiencing financial hardship.

A bursary place covers the full cost of the workshop ticket, and are allocated on a first come, first served basis. Eligibility is based on self-identification and you will not be asked for proof of circumstance. Bursary-holders will not be identified to tutors or fellow attendees.

If you would like to apply for a bursary place, please email office@poetrybusiness.co.uk and specify the workshops/tutors you’re interested in.

Examples of those eligible for bursary places may include: Black, Asian or minority ethnic attendees; those for whom English is an additional language; LGBTQ+ attendees; attendees who are Disabled or have a long-term illness; Neurodiverse attendees; attendees from Working Class backgrounds.

If you are able to, please consider buying a ‘gift place’ for someone who might otherwise be unable to participate. These can be purchased by clicking on ‘Workshop & Gift Ticket Bundle’ on Eventbrite.

Times & Dates

February 2021

  • Phoebe Stuckes – New & Unusual Sonnets – Friday 19th February – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Michael Laskey How to Please and Surprise Yourself – Tuesday 23rd February – 11:00am–12:30pm 
  • Kathryn Simmonds Hearing Voices – Thursday 25th February – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]

March 2021

  • Laura Scott – The Virtues of Sprawl – Tuesday 2nd March – 11:00am–12:30pm
  • Niall Campbell – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 10th March – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Andrew McMillan – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 16th March – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Liz Berry Charms and Superstitions Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 23rd March – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom Mini Writing Day – Saturday 20th March – 10:00am – 1:00pm [LIMITED SPACES LEFT]
  • Phoebe Stuckes The Lyric I Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 23rd March – 11:00am–12:30pm 

April 2021

  • Hannah Lowe – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 6th April – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES LEFT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 7th April – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Kim Moore – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 13th April – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 14th April – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • River Wolton – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 20th April – 11:00am–12:30pm
  • Michael Laskey & Jackie Wills Mini Writing Day – Saturday 24th March – 9:30am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Mimi Khalvati – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 28th April – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]

May 2021

  • David Tait – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 4th May – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Michael Laskey – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 12th May – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Liz Berry– Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 18th May – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Suzannah Evans – Anything Can Happen: Writing Prose Poems – Wednesday 19th May – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES LEFT]
  • Cliff Yates – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 26th May – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES LEFT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Mini Writing Day – Saturday 29th May – 10:00am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]

June 2021

  • Jackie Wills – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 1st June – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Andrew McMillan & Sarah Fletcher – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 2nd June– 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Kim Moore – Writing the Journey – Tuesday 8th June – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Hannah Lowe – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 9th June – 11:00am–12:30pm [CANCELLED]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 16th June – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 23rd June – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Liz Berry & Niall Campbell – Writing Life in Moments of Quiet – Saturday 26th June – 9.30am–1pm [SOLD OUT]

July 2021

  • River Wolton – Wild Mind Writing – Tuesday 6th July – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Suzannah Evans – Bad Robot: Borrowing Voices from the Non-Human – Wednesday 7th July – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMANING]
  • Andrew McMillan & Warda Yassin – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 14th July – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Laura Scott – The Virtues of Sprawl – Tuesday 20th July – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Malika Booker – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 28th July– 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Mini Writing Day – Saturday 31st July – 10:00am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]

August 2021

  • Mimi Khalvati – The Long and Short of it: finding new ways into short and long poems – Tuesday 3rd August – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Cliff Yates – “You just go on your nerve” – Wednesday 4th August – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 11th August – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 17th August – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Kathryn Simmonds – Only Make – Wednesday 18th August – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • David Tait & Kim Moore – Digital Poetry Workshop – Saturday 21st August – 9:30am – 1:00pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Suzannah Evans – Don’t Look Back: Writing the Future – Wednesday 25th August – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]

September 2021

  • Suzannah Evans – Many Things at Once: Writing Poetry Sequences – Wednesday 1st September – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Laura Scott – The Virtues of Sprawl – Tuesday 7th September – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Malika Booker – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 15th September – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Suzannah Evans – A Poetry Map: Writing Places – Tuesday 21st September – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Mini Writing Day – Saturday 25th September – 10:00am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Jonathan Edwards – Everyone A Stranger – Wednesday 29th September – 11:00am – 12:30pm [SOLD OUT]

October 2021

  • Kathryn Simmonds – Hearing Voices – Tuesday 5th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Mimi Khalvati – The Long and Short of it: finding new ways into short and long poems – Wednesday 6th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Tuesday 12th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • River Wolton – Wild Mind Writing – Wednesday 13th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 20th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Hannah Lowe – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 27th October – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Mimi Khalvati & Hannah Lowe – Digital Poetry Workshop – Saturday 30th October – 9:30am – 1:00pm [REARRANGED]

November 2021

  • Liz Berry – The woods are lovely, dark and deep… – Tuesday 2nd November – 11:00am–12:30pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Cliff Yates – “You just go on your nerve” – Tuesday 9th November – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Malika Booker – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 10th November – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Niall Campbell – Know Your Place – Wednesday 17th November – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Mini Writing Day – Saturday 25th September – 10:00am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]
  • Jonathan Edwards – A Fantastic Waste of Time – Wednesday 24th November – 11:00am – 12:30pm [LIMITED SPACES REMAINING]
  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Mini Writing Day – Saturday 27th November – 10:00am – 1:00pm [SOLD OUT]

December 2021

  • Ann & Peter Sansom – Digital Poetry Workshop – Wednesday 1st December – 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Kathryn Simmonds – Only Make – Wednesday 8th December– 11:00am–12:30pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Laura Scott & Kathryn Simmonds – Digital Poetry Workshop – Saturday 11th December – 9:30am – 1:00pm [BOOK TICKETS]
  • Michael Laskey – How to please and surprise yourself – Tuesday 14th December – 11:00am–12:30pm [LIMITED TICKETS REMAINING]

The great sense of warmth and fellow feeling is still with me today, a really bright spot amongst the isolation.

Doreen Gurrey on our pilot ‘Writing Together’ virtual workshop

How To Use Zoom for Digital Workshops

These workshops will be conducted via Zoom. We have put together this simple ‘How To’ document to help you download Zoom, join a meeting, and navigate around the meeting features (such as adjusting video and audio, uploading files, and sharing screens).

You will receive a confirmation email from Eventbrite, as well as directly from us, containing the Zoom invitation, the meeting link and Meeting ID & Password.

Someone from The Poetry Business team will be on hand prior to each workshop to offer additional help over the phone in getting connected.

There is usually a lot of interest in our workshops: in the interest of fairness, please limit yourself to one workshop ticket in every two week period.

The writing workshop on Zoom this morning was brilliant! Despite not being familiar with the platform, seeing everyone’s faces was so cheering and I’d love to take part again.

Sarah Mnatzaganian on our Pilot ‘Writing Together’ virtual workshop

Here are some more helpful links:


Writing Days

*In accordance with government guidelines, our Sheffield & Manchester Writing Days are currently on hold.*

In my view, the UK’s most astute and effective tutors

Simon Armitage

Usually held on the last Saturday of every month, our Sheffield Writing Days run from 10.15am-4pm, with writing exercises in the morning and a critical workshop in the afternoon. We meet at The Printhouse, 21-23 North Church Street, S1 2DH (morning) and at our new office on Campo Lane in the afternoon. The Print House is just a two minute walk from our office on Campo Lane. Click here for directions.

Bring a poem (and ten copies) for the afternoon workshop – or better still write one up to discuss from the morning session. Places are £35, or £30 concs. Pay on the day – by cash or cheque. You needn’t book in advance, but please do let us know if you are planning to attend.


Other Workshops

Ann and Peter Sansom are incomparably experienced and inspirational tutors with a brilliant repertoire of exercises

The Poetry Trust

The Poetry Business hosts additional Writing Days in other locations throughout the year in connection with our Book & Pamphlet Competition, our New Poets Prize or other events. If you can’t make it to Sheffield or Manchester, please check this page for regular information on Writing Days in other locations, or join our mailing list to receive notifications about our other writing workshops straight to your inbox.